## VILLAGE OF LYNDONVILLE MINUTES OF THE 2015 ANNUAL MEETING

The 2015 Annual Meeting of the Village of Lyndonville was held at the Municipal Office Building Conference Room Tuesday, March 17, 2015. Village Trustee Chair, Tim Gaskin, gaveled the meeting to order at 7:00 PM and led the assembly of 18 Village voters and 14 others in the Pledge of Allegiance. A moment of silence was given as tribute to those residents who have passed in the previous year. The reading of the Warning was dispensed with. Non-residents Jack Harris, Joe Dauphin, Ken Mason, Cindy Cady, Kelly Harris, Faye Heath, Pam Kvam, Bob McCabe and Dave Keenan were given permission to speak during the meeting.

Article 1: To elect a Moderator and a Clerk.

Motion made by Randy Amadon, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to nominate Susan Mills for the position of Moderator. There being no other nominations, Susan Mills was elected as Moderator by voice vote.

Motion made by Raymond Durocher, seconded by Chris Hunter, to nominate Dawn Dwyer for the position of Clerk. There being no other nominations, Dawn Dwyer was elected as Clerk by voice vote.

<u>Article 2:</u> Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to adopt the proposed General Fund budget for the ensuing year?

Motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to adopt the proposed General Fund budget in the amount of \$454,190 for the ensuring year. There being no discussion, Article 2 was adopted by voice vote.

<u>Article 3:</u> Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote that taxpayers pay Village real property taxes to the Treasurer on or before 4:30 PM on Friday, November 6, 2015, with delinquent taxes having interest charges of one percent per month for the first three (3) months, where after interest rates will be one and one-half percent per month, and an eight (8) percent late penalty charged against them from the due date of November 6, 2015, at 4:30 PM?

Motion made by Chris Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to adopt Article 3. There being no discussion, Article 4 was adopted by voice vote.

<u>Article 4:</u> Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to authorize the Trustees to borrow money for the Electric Department not to exceed three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) in anticipation of revenues and to execute and deliver the note or notes therefore?

Motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to adopt Article 4. There being no discussion, Article 4 was adopted by voice vote.

<u>Article 5:</u> Shall the voters of the Village of Lyndonville vote to authorize the Trustees to borrow money for the Water Department's normal expenses, not to exceed three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) in anticipation of revenues and to execute and deliver the note or notes therefore?

Motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to adopt Article 5. There being no discussion, Article 5 was adopted by voice vote.

<u>Article 6:</u> To elect the following officers as required: Treasurer; Trustee for remaining Four (4) years of a Five (5) year term; Trustee for Five (5) Years; Delinquent Tax Collector; and Village Agent.

Treasurer: Motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Raymond Durocher, to nominate Dawn Dwyer for the position of Treasurer. There being no other nominations, Dawn Dwyer was elected as Treasurer by voice vote.

Trustee (4 Years of a 5 year term): Motion made by Paula Gaskin, seconded by Ronald Aubin, to nominate Heather Bollman for the position of Trustee for Four (4) years of a Five (5) year term. There being no other nominations, Heather Bollman was elected as Trustee for Four (4) years of a Five (5) year term by voice vote.

Trustee (5 Years): Motion made by Paula Gaskin, seconded by Tim Gaskin, to nominate Christopher Hunter for the position of Trustee for Five (5) years. There being no other nominations, Christopher Hunter was elected as Trustee for a Five (5) year term by voice vote.

Delinquent Tax Collector: Motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to nominate Linda Lee for the position of Delinquent Tax Collector. There being no other nominations, Linda Lee was elected as Delinquent Tax Collector by voice vote.

Village Agent: Motion made by Tim Gaskin, seconded by Christopher Hunter, to nominate Peter Morrissette for the position of Village Agent. There being no other nominations, Peter Morrissette was elected as Village Agent by voice vote.

<u>Article 7:</u> Do the voters of the Village of Lyndonville desire to transact any other proper business?

The following individuals spoke and answered questions on behalf of organizations seeking one of the six available coin drop slots; Kelly Harris for Caledonia County Special Olympics, Faye Heath for Cobleigh Public Library, Pam Kvam for Darling Inn Senior Meal Site, Bob McCabe for H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Everyday), Cindy Cady for Lyndon Dog Pound, and Dave Keenan for Lyndonville Fire Department.

Tim Gaskin explained that there would be decisions that needed to be made by the Village Voters regarding the Joint Garage. The process was just getting underway and it would mean approximately four to five cents on the tax rate, but that the Village was in need of the new facility. Tim also applauded the Village Public Works crew, Lyndonville Electric workers and office staff for their dedication and the fine job done.

Tim presented Oralie Lefaivre a gift certificate and Certificate of Appreciation for the years of service she has given to the Village of Lyndonville. Oralie resigned in October 2014 when she moved outside of the Village limits.

Oralie then presented Tim Gaskin a gift certificate and Certificate of Appreciation for the many years of service he has given to the Village. Tim's term was up this year and has elected not to seek another term.

There being no further business, motion made by Christopher Hunter, seconded by Paula Gaskin, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 7:18 PM.

## **RESULTS OF THE COIN DROP BALLOT**

Organizations granted a coin drop:	
Lyndonville Fire Department	16
Lyndon Dog Pound	15
Darling Inn Senior Meal Site	14
Cobleigh Public Library	14
H.O.P.E.	13
Caledonia County Special Olympics	11
Organizations not granted a coin drop:	
Village Improvement Society	8 (no representation at Annual Meeting)

Village Improvement Society Lyndon Outing Club Lyndon Area Chamber of Commerce

ATTEST: A True Copy:

Tim Gaskin, Trustee Chair

5 (no representation at Annual Meeting)

2 (no representation at Annual Meeting)

Susan Mills, Moderator

Dawn R. Dwyer, Village Clerk